Kentucky Chemical Stockpile Emergency Preparedness Program (Banner goes here)

What is CSEPP ?

CSEPP logoThe Chemical Stockpile Emergency Preparedness Program (CSEPP) was created in 1985 when the US Congress passed a law directing the Army to dispose of its aging chemical weapons inventory with maximum protection of the public and environment as its primary consideration.

Since its inception, the primary goal of CSEPP has been to educate and enhance emergency preparedness in communities surrounding the chemical stockpile stored at the Bluegrass Army Depot.

There are 10 counties in Kentucky which are affected by the chemical stockpile.  Madison County, where the Bluegrass Army Depot is located, and the northwest portion of Estill County are considered the Immediate Response Zones (IRZ).  Clark, Fayette, Powell, Estill, Jackson, Rockcastle and Garrard Counties make up the Protective Action Zone (PAZ).  Jessamine and Laurel Counties are considered Host counties, in which citizens of the IRZ or PAZ may be deployed.

Until the chemical stockpile is safely destroyed, CSEPP will continue to support efforts to ensure a community’s preparedness and safety in the unlikely event of a chemical agent accident.


CSEPP new logo
Visit to learn more all-hazard information!

External Links

Some links on this site may resolve to non-governmental agencies. The information on these pages is not controlled by CSEPP or the Commonwealth of Kentucky.

External links are identified with the following icon: external link


Downloadable Resources

Files in Adobe Portable Document Format (PDF) require Adobe Reader to view the contents.

Click the following link to download a free copy of Adobe Acrobat Reader.external link


Last Updated 3/17/2015